Achieving What You Really Want in Life

I have this pet peeve. It bothers me to no end and I want to shake people as they say it aloud. The “I want to do this so badly, but…”. I cannot stand when people say this, and here’s why.

Most of the reasons that people don’t work for their deepest desires is because of security. They enjoy that sense of security they have in their life currently and that can be in the form of money, a house, a car etc. These things though, they can all be taken away from you in an instant. Your house can be burned down in a fire, your car can be totaled in a terrible accident, and your money can be lost due to a stock market crash. These things, while important, are not your life. They won’t be written on your gravestone. People don’t talk about how much money you made in your obituary, they will talk about the achievements you had and what type of person you were. All of these things are icing on the cake of life, but life is too short and precious to waste worrying about these things.

The only person stopping you from achieving your dreams is you. So why do you keep doing it?

So I challenge you to go out into the world and write that book, travel the world, photograph the beauty that life offers, open up a beautiful and delicious bakery…whatever your heart desires.

My biggest fear is looking back on my life when I’m older and wishing I’d done more, and wishing that I’d not cared as much about the things that aren’t important.

There are two songs that represent this to me: “I Lived” by OneRepublic and “I Hope You Dance” by Lee Ann Womak. Listen to them to feel inspired to achieve your dreams.

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/onerepublic/ilived.html

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/leeannwomack/ihopeyoudance.html

Leave a Reply

