18 Things I’ve Learned in 18 Years and Would Have Told Younger Me

Since I turn 18 in about a month, I thought that I’d make a post stating all of the things I’ve learned in the past 18 years of my life. I’d consider myself to be a very insightful person and think I’m very good at giving advice to people, so here we go:

  1. Stop with the BS. Life is too short to play games with people and not say what is really on your mind. If you like someone, tell them. If you don’t like someone, don’t pretend you do. Seems simple, right? It’s harder then it seems. Being honest with people allows for there to not be confusion and you can focus on the big things in your life instead of petty arguments.
  2. You have to learn to defend yourself. People are pretty shitty. There’s no other way to say it. You have to learn to stand up to the people who try to put you down, they aren’t worth your constant distress.
  3. You never know as much as you think you do. In high school, I thought I was so smart. Then I would do something and realize how much I really had to learn. That continues, and the feeling of not knowing anything continues tenfold.
  4. Some of your best days lie ahead. High school sucks, no one is doubting it. College is ahead, though, and it will be some of the greatest years of your life. Don’t sweat it, kid.
  5. Study for that test tomorrow. “Winging it” doesn’t work. This is pretty self-explanatory.
  6. Work harder in school in general. You’re going to end up regretting not working harder in school. Even though everything seems easy enough to get by, when you get dropped by sororities because you didn’t have a 4.0, you’ll wish you worked harder (not that I wanted to be in a sorority that requires a 4.0, that’s some crap).
  7. No matter what age you’re at boys suck. If you think that the maturity suddenly triples because they’re no longer in high school, think again. Do you know how many penises have been drawn on my door’s white board? Too many.
  8. Your parents may not always want what’s best for YOU. Parents usually want what is good for you, but that may not always be what is best. Likely, your parents will disagree with every decision you’ll make until you’re 30. I don’t want to get a job right out of high school. I plan on living abroad for a few years, doing who knows what. I just know I’m never entering a cubicle. Most parents want some type of “tenure” for their children, something to make sure that they will make it and survive on their own. Tenure won’t leave you the option of winning a Pulitzer Prize, winning a National Championship, land you on the Ellen Show, or leave you to achieve greatness. The most important things you do that shape you in your life they’ll probably disagree with, but if that’s what tickles your fancy, do it. But this leads me to my next point…
  9. Don’t try to be great. If you try to hard to be something, it’s not going to come. It’s that simple. Don’t go into something trying to be great, go into something because you’re passionate about it and you’ll achieve what you want through that passion.
  10. It’s hard to keep in touch. It’s really hard to keep in touch with friends when you’re in college. Don’t expect to do so and spend as much time with them while you can.
  11. Be stupid. This continues on in college as well, but go out right before a test. Use your friend’s fake ID and go to a bar. Make memories. Before you know it, you’ll be too old to do these things and you’ll wish you did.
  12. That being said, don’t be an idiot. Don’t walk alone at night, don’t talk to strangers, don’t drink and drive etc. You’ve heard it all before.
  13. Stop researching. I don’t know about you, but I was a huge researcher. I stalked every sorority before I rushed, went on Rate My Professor so many times, and looked at so many Pinterest posts about college I could write a book. There’s nothing for you to really prepare for, so don’t sweat over which hamper you buy.
  14. Save more money. I had terrible spending habits in high school and I wish I was better now. When you don’t have your parents to give you money when you’re going to the movies, budgeting becomes essential and it’s what I am having to learn now.
  15. Get a crap-ton of school apparel. I don’t have that many items of school apparel that I can actually wear (cute and doesn’t have an advertisement on it). I look at other people’s cute outfits with envy as I wear the same outfit to every sporting event.
  16. Get a sports pass for your college. If your school has a popular sports team like mine, you’ll want to go to every game. If it’s available then get it, you won’t regret it!
  17. Stop wishing you were older. You’ll have plenty of time to be older, enjoy your teens.
  18. Stop caring what people think and just be you. It took me until my senior year of high school to finally come out my shell. Do you know how many more friends I made? Stop caring about what people think of you and just be yourself, people are much more attracted to people who are confident in themselves. Wouldn’t you rather be friends with someone that was sure of themselves? Be whoever you want to be, and own it 🙂

That is my advice for y’all and I hope you take it to heart. If you’re older then me, then I hope you agree with what I’m saying.

P.S. Comment below with any cities or locations you’d like me to do travel plans on! I got a huge response from the Patagonia post and would love to continue doing those! Thanks xoxo

Leave a Reply

