Reflection + New Outlook for 2015

Screen Shot 2014-12-18 at 12.19.18 AM

As 2014 comes to a close, the need to reflect on my past year surfaces and I would like to share that reflection with whomever finds themselves reading Indulging in Wanderlust.

When I started this blog, I wanted to write about travel and the exciting things that were happening in my life, but as time went on I realized that travel writing was not really my forte. Or at least not yet. At only 18, I have yet to travel to many of the places I’d like to visit and cannot really give as much insight as I’d like about the places I’d be writing about. And for those reasons, I’ve decided to change the focus of this blog from being about travel to just living a happy and beautiful life.

Throughout the past year, I have gotten tastes of what that looks like.

Singing the University of Kansas Alma Mater on a crisp fall day with my arms wrapped around strangers. Waking up on a chilly November morning to see snow on the ground for the first time in years. Being initiated into Alpha Gamma Delta, one of the most beautiful things in my life currently. Sharing laughs with friends that you can see in your wedding years down the road. All of my experiences on Friday nights out with friends.

All of these things added together have created a beautiful life for myself at KU and I so grateful for them, but what happens when you take those things away? Learning to happy by myself is something I have to learn how to do. Yes, I have always appreciated my own company, but that is not the same as being happy by myself. At the end of the day, all I am left with is myself and if I’m not happy with that person then what’s the point?

That’s the main thing I’d like to focus on for 2015: loving myself and treating my body, mind, and soul as a temple.

Also, to stop relying on giving people compliments on physical appearance. I see some of the people around me as so much more than physically beautiful. My mother for being so strong and wise, and for being the exact type of person I strive to be every day. My father for being so intelligent and strong, yet kind. My brother for being one of the hardest workers I know and that I can see being so successful in his life no matter what he does because of that drive. All of my friends for their unique stories and how lives can intertwine so easily.

I once saw this list of how to complement someone not based on their physical appearance and I’d like to share that list with all of you.

  1. You’re empowering.
  2. I like your voice.
  3. You’re strong.
  4. I think your ideas/beliefs matter.
  5. I’m so happy you exist.
  6. More people should be listening to what you have to say.
  7. You’re a very warm hearted person.
  8. It’s nice seeing such kindness.
  9. You’re very down to earth.
  10. You have a beautiful soul.
  11. You inspire me to become a better person.
  12. Our conversations bring me a lot of joy.
  13. It’s good to see someone care so much.
  14. You’re so understanding.
  15. You matter a lot to me.
  16. You’re important even if you don’t think so.
  17. You’re intelligent.
  18. Your passion is contagious.
  19. Your confidence is refreshing.
  20. You restore my faith in humanity.
  21. You’re great at being creative.
  22. You’re so talented at …
  23. I don’t get tired of you the way I get tired of other people.
  24. You have great taste in …
  25. I’m happy I’ve stayed alive long enough to meet you.
  26. I wish more people were like you.
  27. You’re so good at loving people.
  28. I like how many things you teach me.

All of these compliments mean so much more than ones about physical appearance and I wish people would use them more.

Finally, I’d like to see more people less reliant on the opposite sex, or the same sex if that’s their thing. I hear stories of countless girls always wanting boyfriends and wanting to find someone to marry at age 18. Slow down, allow yourself to experience life yourself and love yourself. No relationship you have will ever work out unless you truly love yourself and your life. Give yourself some time.

And with that, I say goodbye to 2014 and welcome in the new year. I hope the next year is filled with even more beautiful memories than the past one. 13 more days!

 

5 thoughts on “Reflection + New Outlook for 2015

Leave a Reply

