Journal: Why it’s Okay to be Single for Valentine’s Day

Valentines-Day-Roses

Society currently pressures girls of all ages to be in relationships. I’ve seen preteen girls complain how they’re “forever alone” just because they’re twelve and haven’t had their first boyfriend yet. At eighteen, this behavior baffles me. I have yet to be in any type of significant relationship and I don’t think there’s any problem with that. At such a young age, it’s important to be completely in love with yourself before worrying about adding someone else to the mix. Also, it’s difficult to find people who want the same things as you in the hookup culture we find ourselves in.

So how do you manage to go through a day dedicated to love? You remember its purpose and that there is love in your life, whether it’s romantic or not.

This holiday was created by businesses to sell more products. That’s it. How you celebrate Valentine’s Day has absolutely nothing to do with the quality or quantity of love in your life. And that is something everyone needs to remember, including myself. I’ll be the first one to admit, I’m not surprised I’m not in a relationship. Everyone always says the opposite, but I always think about two factors that come into play. First of all, I rarely talk to boys in a social setting because when I grew up all of my friends were strictly girls. And that has carried into my adult life where almost all of my friends are girls. So that lowers the pool of male options to pretty much none.

Also, I saw something on Tumblr about a year ago that has really stuck with me and I think it is true of a lot of people my age.

“I’m not surprised you don’t have a boyfriend. I don’t want you to take this the wrong way, I just don’t think very many people, especially your age, would be able to keep up with you. You know who you are and you know what you want to do. Your eyes light up when you talk about your passions, and you’re not afraid to defy social norms and be who you are. And all of this, this scares people.”

People need to stop thinking that they need to be in relationships. Solitude is something to be cherished and people today seem to lack the ability to deal with it. Whether it is constantly being on your phone or always needing to getting a word in, we no longer have the ability to sit back and appreciate what is around us.

I challenge all of you to try spending a day all by yourself. No communication with others and truly be with just your own thoughts. Maybe even try it for just an hour and see what you can discover about yourself…

One thought on “Journal: Why it’s Okay to be Single for Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

