Importance of Positivity

Positivity

For the past few weeks I’ve noticed that I’ve been in a bit of a mental rut. I’ve been more anxious than usual, I haven’t been feeling as excited about the things I used to be happier about, and you don’t even want to see the state of my room right now. I’ve spent this past afternoon coming up with ways to get me back in the swing of things and figured I’d share these things with all of you.

The number 1 thing that I need to remind myself is the power of positivity. No matter what you’re dealing with at the time, a positive attitude about it can do wonders for your ability to think straight and resolve the issue. If you decide to take anything from this post, let it be positivity.

The second thing is journaling. I have three journals that I currently have set up (that I haven’t written in for a while) that I’d like to share. The first is a morning journal. I place this on the side of my bed and every morning I write at least a page on how I’m going to make that day great. Whether it is by doing well on a test or by smiling more, it is one step closer to the final goal. The second journal is a personal diary and this functions as your average middle school diary. If I’m ever dealing with something that feels very heavy and I can’t seem to control my emotions about it, I’ll write about it. During the entry, I’ll use the release of emotions to turn the entry into something positive and end it with how I’ll work on the issue in the future. Finally, I have a goal-oriented journal that I use to track things I see on Pinetrest or some other site about organization, day planning, goal setting, etc. and this helps me to work on my goals. All three of these go on the side of my bed and are accessed when needed.

The final thing is meditation. Whenever I find myself feeling anxious, I simply close my eyes and try to clear my mind for at least five minutes. I don’t allow any thoughts into my head, including positive ones, to just give my brain a rest. When those five minutes are up, I feel so much more relaxed and able to handle the tasks in front of me.

I hope these three habits help you increase the amount of positivity and productivity in your life!

signature

One thought on “Importance of Positivity

  1. I love this Rachey! Glad to know you have ways of coping on days when things don’t seem so rosy. The room comment made me laugh. Love you xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

