Vegan Journey + Update

Long time no blog? I’ve managed to forget about this blog for the past 10 months, but when I logged back into my WordPress account it seemed that other people weren’t forgetting about me. So, thank you for continuing to read my blog posts, I’ll be updating them now!

The past 10 months have been a whirlwind for me and I’m really enjoying my time at university! But the most important change in my life that has happened is that I went vegan this year!

I was vegetarian for about two years in high school and loved it, but was not plant-based at all which led to my downfall. My diet consisted of mostly pastas and breads instead of vegetables and fruits. I let an “addiction” to certain tastes and flavors control what I ate and that is how I ended up eating meat again. This time is different.

The day after my 19th birthday I was in the mood to watch a life-changing documentary because I had scraped my car against a pole in my parking lot earlier that day (I had a complete breakdown about it, it wasn’t pretty). I watched Earthlings on Netflix and was completely blown aback by what I had been ignoring. I already knew all of the information brought forth in that film – I participated in a debate on it in my AP Environmental Science class in high school – and yet, I completely ignored the facts to please my taste buds. No more.

Ever since then I have been making the transition to going vegan. I slowly cut out meat products and gave myself a month to enjoy dairy products. I ate chocolate, bagels and cream cheese, and cheese galore. But by the 31st, I was ready. I wanted to feel good about myself and to stand up for what I believed in because at that point in my life I wasn’t.

For my entire life I loved animals, all animals. There was no, “I love all animals, except the ones I eat.” I sincerely loved all animals, even the ones I ate. I never realized how hypocritical that sounded, though. How on earth could I possibly say that I loved animals if I paid someone everyday to kill them, steal their milk, and steal their eggs? No more. Ever since November 11th I have pledged to stand by my values. I do not want to be a person that believes in one thing and does another. I want to live a life filled with compassion and kindness and that starts with what I put in my mouth.

So I’ll be updating you on my vegan journey on this blog along with other posts to come.

Happy New Year! (Is it too late to say that?)

xoxo,

Rachel

One thought on “Vegan Journey + Update

Leave a Reply

